Don’t Write for Your Future (Do This Instead)

oceanwriter

One day, you will wake up, and it will be time to die. Or, you may not wake up at all. You might die in your sleep, and know not the hour of your own passing . . . .

I don’t know about you, but that scares the crap out of me sometimes. It’s not so much death, as it is dying without having done; without having made something of myself; without having made bestsellers of those fifteen novels I have in queue on my laptop; without having “made it” to that magical place where my financial box is checked and I don’t have to embarrassingly hold up the check-out line while I dig through my bags to see which items I need to put back because I overfilled the cart and don’t have quite enough to pay for it all.

I often find myself feeling like I’m writing for my future. I feel this pressure to do well so that in the future, we can have nice things and live comfortably. Because writing is the thing I do best. Seriously, if I’m ever gonna get rich, it’ll be writing, because goodness knows I can’t do much else right.

But here’s the problem:

When I write for my future, not only is there all kinds of ridiculous pressure on me, but I also forget some things. Some very important things. I sometimes forget why I write. It’s not to get rich. Though my goal is to someday be able to support my children on my writing alone, that is not why I do it. I’ve said it a thousand times and I’ll say it a thousand more–I write because I can’t not write–It’s who I am. It’s the light that I shine into this world in a way only I can shine it. I write because I love to write more than almost any thing on the planet. If I’m not writing, I’m dreaming and scheming and thinking about writing. To me, writing is bliss. And in the wise words of Joseph Campbell, you should always “follow your bliss.”

So . . . instead of writing for the future, why not write for now?

Write for today. 

In just the same way that when we live one day at a time–I mean really live it–stopping to smell the roses and tiptoe through the tulips and dance in our skivvies through the strawberry fields in our John Lennon shades–we must keep our focus on the now-bliss of writing. Those awesome moments only writers understand, you know? Those are what it’s all about–what make this crazy life of the writer so worth living. Writing for today will not only bring more life to our writing, but it will also make whatever lack we are experiencing in our life at the moment somehow softer, and worth it.

I love this meme, and the man on it, so much. I found it today and it sparked this blog post so I want to share it with you 🙂

DalaiAnd I don’t know about you, but I want to live.

I suppose that means if you are doing some other job that doesn’t bring you joy because you’ve gotta make ends meet–don’t forget to make a little time everyday to also follow your bliss and see where it takes you. I bet it’s somewhere marvellous ❤

Until next time, writerly friends,

Follow your bliss ❤ ❤ ❤

UPDATE!!

Below you will find the blurb for “The Treemakers.” If you’d like to be added to my launch list for when it releases, you may email me at rozelle[dot]treemakers[at]gmail[dot]com. Feel free to email me for any other reason as well; just to say hi, ask a question, or vent about whatever… just promise you’ll be nice because I’m sensitive. 😉

“The Treemakers” (Edgy YA Dystopian/SciFi)

Doomed to a life of building mechanical trees for the dying world of Bygonne, sixteen year-old Joy Montgomery remains the only one left to care for over thirty orphaned children enslaved by the Superiors in the Tree Factory.

But the iron bonds of friendship and family, the discovery of magic in the dark, and love amidst devastation, soon fuel her search for a way out. Aided by an unlikely ally who harbors a dangerous secret, Joy and the Treemakers embark on a quest for freedom, and for the truth about the existence of a forbidden paradise.

Coming in November! (Release date/cover reveal TBA)

Click here to check out some fabulous wisdom-flavored tidbits writing this novel has brought me.

7 thoughts on “Don’t Write for Your Future (Do This Instead)

What's on your mind?

