⭐20 Questions⭐for Author Casey L. Bond

 

dramatic sky with dark clouds at sunset

Today, I have the honor of interviewing Casey L. Bond, author of the bestselling “Frenzy” series. I’ve known Casey for about 2 years, and she’s become one of my favorite indie author friends. Always enthusiastic and optimistic, her motivation to succeed in the indie world is truly inspiring, and she’s always there to lend a hand, or offer advice when you need it. ❤

If you haven’t checked out Casey’s books yet, spanning an array of various romance sub-genres, I highly recommend you do so >HERE< after you read the interview. 🙂

Let us begin!

 

  1. Casey, what’s your writing process like?

Fast and furious! LOL! I don’t get to write every day, so when I get a free hour or a few of them, I write as fast as possible. Typos and rewrites can be done later in the process. The first draft usually takes me 6-8 weeks and then there are revisions, edits, formats, etc. before I hit the publish button.

On the days I don’t write, I’m plotting what is coming next. I usually make a rough plot based on an 8-point story arc and follow it, but that leaves a lot of details that need filled in.

  1. Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Slightly both. A hybrid? I plot major points and then pants most of the in-between.

  1. How many genres do you currently write in? Do you have any pen names?

I write romance and in sub-genres such as dystopian, fantasy, horror and contemporary. My adult works are published under C.L. Bond and my YA is published under Casey L. Bond. I felt the need to separate the two slightly so that teens don’t pick up the adult books. But, I did want people to be able to search Bond and find me.

  1. If you could have one super power or special ability, what would it be?

I would love to fly! As crazy as it sounds, it seems exhilarating and peaceful at the same time.

  1. If you were stranded somewhere with no other way to write, would you rather use your skin as paper, or your blood as ink?

I’d use my skin. Blood (as weird as that sounds considering I write vampires) skeeves me out. (Especially my own).

  1. If you could only choose one, would you rather read or write for the rest of your life?

Write. As much as I love reading, I love writing even more and my mind is full of stories. There are so many and new ideas popping in all the time. Most will never be written.

  1. If you could be one Disney princess, which would you be, and why?

Hmmm. I love Merida from Brave and Tiana from The Princess and the Frog. Both are strong women who aren’t afraid to fight and work hard for what they want. 🙂

  1. What’s your favorite thing about being an indie author?

The control. (I’m not a control freak.) I love being able to see my sales each day, to control pricing and keep it affordable for readers. I was traditionally published at first and had no say in anything with regard to pricing. My e-book was priced at $9.99, which is insane for a brand-new author that no one had ever heard of.  I only saw sales on a quarterly statement and was left in the dark most of the time. So I like knowing how my business is doing on a daily basis. I enjoy the interaction with readers and fans and look forward to continuing down the indie road. Would I consider an agent and traditional publisher now? Yes. I’d love a publishing deal, but it would have to be right and with a large press for me to consider it at this point in my career.

  1. When did you first start writing? When did you write your first full-length novel?

I’ve always written to some degree, but seriously began writing around five or six years ago. That’s when my first book was written. Winter Shadows taught me a lot about writing, the publishing industry and the book community as a whole. It was the first stepping stone and I’m incredibly grateful for all of the local and online support I received with publishing it.

  1. Would you rather be the sky, or the ocean? Why?

The ocean. I’m part fish! LOL! I love water. I love the smell of the salty air and the waves slapping the shore.

  1. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I have several projects planned for the next five years, each more elaborate and intense than the last. Several will break boundaries for me and I’m excited about the potential. I will query a few of these projects in search of an agent who might be interested in representing them and potentially negotiating publishing rights, audio book rights and foreign rights as those arise.

  1. Where do you get most of your story inspiration?

I would say several sources inspire me: daily life, the news, dreams, music. There are a lot of what-if’s and my imagination runs wild with possibilities.

  1. What genre do you wish you could write, but probably never will?

I really wish I could write a crime novel and considering that I majored in Criminal Justice, one would think that would have been the first thing that I was pulled to, but I’m a lover at heart. I love the possibilities of life and love in desperate situations. I love building worlds even more than setting stories in our own.

  1. If you could live in any of your story worlds, which would you choose, and what character would you be?

Of those I can disclose….I’d say Frenzy and I would be Porschia Grant. This story and character have almost taken me over. I love Porschia’s strength through adversity. She’s tenacious, determined to preserve who she once was and I respect her for that.

  1. If you could have any two of your own characters over for dinner, who would you invite?

Seriously? Gray and Tage. Gray is from The Harvest Saga and Tage is from the Frenzy Series. Need I explain more? They’re book boyfriends but sweet and funny. The conversation would be hilarious.

 

  1. Name your top 5 favorite books of all time.

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

East of Eden, John Steinbeck

Night, Elie Wiesel

The Premonition Series, Amy Bartol

The Fate Series, Heather Lyons

 

  1. Do you prefer paperbacks or ebooks?

I prefer to keep paperbacks of my favorites, but read on a Kindle. I can easily read at night that way and won’t mess up my pages. 🙂

  1. Where’s your favorite place to read? Favorite place to write?

I read while chillaxing in my recliner after the kids go to sleep. I write at my desk, though we’ve been moving and I’m sort of displaced right now.

  1. What items must you have on your desk at all times while working?

Paper, pen, a drink, post-it notes, computer, phone and earbuds. Those are the essentials! I love my music.

  1. How do you deal with distractions when you’re trying to work? Do you limit your social media time, etc.?

I can easily tune out the world while working. I love to listen to music, softly. When I write, I need “brain-breaks.” I’ll write until I need to stop and process for a minute, so I’ll check in on social media, etc and then go back to it when I clear my mind.

 

Thanks so much, Casey, what a fun interview! You and I have a lot of things in common, and I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

And for you, person reading this interview, here’s the link again to Casey’s Amazon page. Go check out her books!

Thanks for reading! And happy writing. ❤

xoxo

Christina

What's on your mind?

